Sexuality and Music

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ekMDxVylXgM

 

 

I love rock music. A lot of it anyway. I love the Seventies and Eighties the most, and some of 90’s and 2000’s like Nickelback. It’s just great to sit (or lay back), chill out or be in deep thought while listenig to music.

But how does music (particularly rock music) relate to sexuality> Well me, personally, of course, not a great deal.  I just heard it on the video above. Joan Jett made the comment that rock music, I’m guessing for her at least, was a form of sexual liberation for women, about ‘owning your sexuality” so to speak. Maybe she does have a point. When I first heard it,I thought, “what? I’m too busy bouncing off the walls when I listen to Suzi Quatro to think about that stuff”! However, I think she may have been on to something, but maybe a tad bit differently.

Rock music, from it’s origin in the mid 1950’s was a sign of the first evident major generational gap between the Baby Boomers and their parents. Ever since then, parents have protested and criticised the music a lot of their kids have listened to. There was a time, especially in the 1970’s, that rock music played a major role in the hippy movement and later the gay rights movements swamping much of the ’70’s. The androgyny of the glam rock movement, of both male and female artists challenged gender norms and in turn, gave LGBT a voice in society.

More on the pop side, the LGBT community have embraced disco (as can be heard on soundtracks like “Priscilla – Queen of the Desert), and since the 1980’s, the gay community have embraced the music of ABBA. For the LGBT community over the past 30 or so years, it was someithing to claim for themselves and create a commonality within their community while they were predomnately discriminated against by the rest of the world. Sor of like the generational gap reflected by different music since the 1950’s.

So, what does this mean to asexuals,or me personally? I kind of agree to some extent what Joan Jett was on about, but I believe it goes further. Music makes you think about what your take on the world is, It’s a form of self – expression, whether to do with sexuality, your interests, beliefs (religious and otherwise), and overall view of the world. Music, regardlesss of the genere, reflects teh complexity of the human race, both collectively and individually. Music exposes flaws, highlights injustices, but also creates a sense of self of individulas, especially for those who don’t fit the “norm”. It’s an identify tag that says “This represents a part of me. This is who I am. This is how I feel. This is where I fit in the world”. And, yes, for some people, a part of that is an individuals sexuality.

2 comments on “Sexuality and Music

  1. This is a fascinating topic to me, music and sexuality. I have been asexual in terms of orientation for as long as I can remember, though I had sex a few times many years ago (both by rape and consensual, never through innate desire or attraction, just not all of it forced…). The thing is, I LOVE hip hop. This might seem especially odd given that I am nearly 62, and a not at all street-savvy, white, female who all my life hated most rock and punk music and gravitated towards the softer side of folk music! Still, as a poet, I always knew that I would love hip hop music and rap lyrics if I gave myself a chance to listen to them, and lo and behold I do.

    Talk about sexuality and music, though! Nicky Minaj’s Anaconda couldn’t be more raunchy, and I have a feeling that’s just the tip of the iceberg in terms of what is out there. By contrast, Bruno Mars’ Gorillas is almost tame in comparison, and in it he talks about “F—ing like gorillas!” which just makes me laugh and laugh, even while I sing right along. (I admit that at first the video of “Anaconda” was tough to watch…I have little experience with the rawness of today’s music video world, and hadn’t known what to expect. I still don’t watch it, but i find the outrageous lyrics simply too funny for words, not obscene, though some would certainly find them so…sexual certainly, but for me, nothing more than — I dunno, just funny in an LOL kind of way. Just as when rappers swear a lot, just as I tend to when upset, it makes me guffaw. Is that weird? I simply don’t find the sexual references offensive or sexual — but when someone says F— in the way that means sexually, it just strikes me as utterly funny, just because the word is so anglo-saxon and raunchy and used in that fundamental sense!

    ‘Anyhow I realize I am going on and on and you likely are not interested in the words of an asexual of my years, but there you have it. Who knew I would fall in love with essentially young people’s music at my age? Sexual or not, it is so full of life and rage (which is okay by me) that I can’t stop listening!

    So glad to find this blog even as an oldster (alas, I don’t know anyone of my generation who has always been asexual, only those who claim it now because of difficulties brought on by aging).

    Yours,

    Pam W.

    • saraharnetty says:

      Thank you for your comments, Pam. Just talking about Nicky Minaj, I looked at the lyrics of Anaconda and thought it was about (ptw) drug dealing more than actual sex.

      In the context of the post, I was Referring to Joan Jett, who’s been very open about her early years as a singer/ guitarist in the early 80’s. She has said on numerous occasions that the reason why she was rejected by record companies for so long after the Runaways broke up in ’79, was because, as she put it, rock music is very ‘sexual’ and that was the reason why she was rejected all those years. And that what she out it down to.

      Just as a side note, I can’t get around the alleged notion that ‘women can’t play rock’n’roll’. Havenz’t they heard of Suzi Quatro?! She leaves most of the men in the dust! Lol.

Leave a Reply

