Asexuality Vs. Celibacy

I think there is often confusion between asexuality and celibacy. To put it simply:

Asexual: someone who doesn’t experience or any or very low sexual attraction to anyone regardless of gender.

Celibate: Someone who chooses to refrain sexual activity, often for spiritual reasons.

For me personally, I don’t necessarily think that being asexual is a “gift” any more than what I would say that being “straight” was a gift. I won’t go too much into theological arguements about this. I just want to keep it simple.

I believe that being asexual just is. I just don’t feel sexual attraction to anyone regardless of gender. To me, that’s it. I’m not “special” because of it,  nor do I think I”m any worse off because I am (even though sometimes I think being straight would be nice frankly). To me, it just is. And I’m learning to be OK with that.

Leave a Reply

