Attraction

To think that people are attracted to each other based largely on looks used to infuriate me.  Now, I’ve calmed down on the issue and now see certain validity in the  argument.

From a scientific perspective (note: just so you know, I don’t have a scientific bone in my body. Take this with a grain of salt and feel free to do your own research), people experience sexual attraction to certain people because of the possibility for producing healthy offspring. So it makes sense that a certain level attraction is based on looks, at least initially. However, some people do go a bit extreme (like the guy on Dr. Phil show today).

Even as an asexual, I sometimes feel an emotional attraction (crushes), and I’d be lying if I said said that aesthetics didn’t play a part in that (personality does too). Nothing came of these crushes, but they’ve been there.

I think for most people, attraction based on aesthetics is something that happens, at least initially. How people choose to let it drive their lives and if they mistreat people because of it is when it becomes a real issue. Other than that, I’m one of those people who believes that you can’t help who you’re attracted to, either physically and/ or romantically.

Leave a Reply

