Opposite – Sex Friendships

I have a really good friend who is a guy. He’s just under two years younger than me. Nothing has, or ever will happen between us, even if I was straight. He’s currently got a partner who is expecting a baby.

i do not get the whole expectation of chemistry between opposite – sex friends. You can’t be attracted to EVERYONE of the gender/s you’re attracted to, can you? Some women actually prefer friendships with men because they think they have less drama (and no, they’re not gay).

i wonder if the over – sexualisation of male/ female relationships is the driving force of sexism in society (or worse). Why can’t we treat each other like human beings first and develop a culture of respect for the opposite gender as well as ourselves?

Maybe it’s too easy for me, as an asexual to make such a comment. I mean I don’t know what it’s like to be physically attracted to someone. My argument is that men and women can be without sexual tension hovering over their heads.

Has anyone got a really good/ best friend of the opposite sex?

One comment on “Opposite – Sex Friendships

  1. As a bloke I cherish friendships with my male and female friends, both gay and straight. The physical altraction thing doesn’t seem to come into play. Each friendship has different dynamics but in the end it comes down t the people you love, whatever their gender or orientation I think.

Leave a Reply

