Life Stages

Last night, I went to a surprise birthday for a relative. As part of the celebrations, his son, son -in – law and others, presented a slideshow, chronicling various events and milestones in his life. It got me wondering how my life will pan out and what my future milestones will be.

Ever since 2005, my thoughts about relationships in particular and life more generally have been much less black and white. Even now, at 25, there is less certainty about how things are going to pan out than when I was a child and in my early teens. Maybe the obvious answers growing up was how I was raised. When I was a child, it was pretty straight forward: people grow up, get married and have children. However, interestingly, sex has always foreign to me; either something almost mythical or something other people did, but never made sense to me personally.

i get that asexual people get married, it’s just, for me, the realisation of my sexual orientation, any notions of a “traditional” relationship have completely left me. I can’t for the life of me see it happening. Would I reject any notions of a relationship ( beyond friendship)? I’m still getting my head around it, but I’m really in doubt that marriage will be on the cards for me personally.

I suppose for me now my aim is to get my life on track, my career anyway. I’m always told ypu can’t tell what the future will bring and you just have to go with the flow. I suppose that’s all I can do.

One comment on “Life Stages

  1. Yep go with the flow. That’s best whatever stage we’re in.

Leave a Reply

