Glee

Last night, I watched a TV show that I used to watch almost religiously, but haven’t really watched the last year or two; Glee. What I used to live about the show was the topic of self acceptance really hit me. It almost made me glad that I am who I am, even before I knew for sure I was asexual.

i did realise last night that sex is a prominent theme in the show. Frankly, I even thought that last night’s episode should’ve been rated M rather than just PG. It didn’t offend me, it was just surprising how far I thought they went.

My favourite episode of all time is probably the Lady Gaga episode when Fynn (played by the late Corey Monteith), and Kurt were about to become step brothers It bought tears to my eyes the first time I saw it.

The theme of self acceptance really hits me. I’d be lying if I said I was completely there, but I’m getting there, I think.

And most of the music in it is great too.

5 comments on “Glee

  1. luvtheheaven says:

    You thought an episode of Glee should’ve been rated M?! Lol I wonder which one it was. I think the general TV-14 rating they have makes sense and have never thought the show was getting into M-rated territory. I think the whole show includes a lot of sex-crazed teenagers/young adults (and sex-crazed older adults too for that matter), but the scenes themselves don’t seem to be the most risque. I don’t know. 😉

    I feel very passionately about the show, I have plenty of criticisms for it but I also watch it religiously and make fanvideos about it. I even included some Glee clips in this fanvideo which was trying to educate my fanvideo editing friends (fellow “vidders”) about asexuality: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vM8rIfoMEaU I also have written some Glee fanfiction in the past and I plan to write a Glee fanfic soon where I make one of the female characters asexual and one of the other female characters on the show demisexual. 😉

    • saraharnetty says:

      Sometimes, I think some of the talk about sex they have is a bit mature. Like, actually talking about being sexually active.

      BTW, I’m from Australia and the ratings jump from PG (parental guidance for people who for people under 15) to M (for mature audiences). There’s really nothing in between here.

      • luvtheheaven says:

        Well in the USA there’s nothing in between TV-14 (parental guidance for people under 14) to MA (for mature audiences) so it’s not much different… 😛

        And yeah they like to talk about “scissoring” on the show, they use it like it’s a joke-term almost – they treat the Brittana “lesbian” (or well, same-sex female relationship, since Brittana is bisexual) relationship kinda weird. But honestly that doesn’t strike me AT ALL as a rated M thing. I can think of things they would never dare say about sexual-related actions/body parts/body functions in a TV-14 rating but that is not one of them, I guess. It’s not like they showed the girls scissoring or even explained in depth (or explained at all) what that meant. I don’t know.

      • saraharnetty says:

        Fair enough point. 🙂

    • saraharnetty says:

      The episode I was talking about was when Santana was begging Brittany to take her back. To be blunt, sexual acts were mentioned that I thought was a bit mature (between Santana and Brittany… Ok Santana talked about scissoring Brittany, that’s the spoiler alert. That’s what I was talking about.

Leave a Reply

