Even I Admit Asexuality Doesn’t Make Sense

This week, I’ve been very critical of broadcaster Steve Price’s reaction to asexuality on The Project after they did a story on it last Monday.  While I still think he could’ve been more sensitive, I’m coming to understand why for most people, asexuality is such a hard concept for people to grasp.

Most science surrounding human sexuality surrounds sexual attraction and “spreading the seed” do to speak. Also, it’s accepted that primary non – platonic relationships are sexual. It’s easy for asexual people to say that there is a difference between sexual and romantic attraction and that they don’t always go hand in hand, but for allosexuals, it would be quite a foreign idea.

It also contradicts societal expectations in what young men and women should do. For me at least, realising I was asexual through my own expectations for myself out the window in regards to relationships and what it meant to be a woman. It’s still a work in progress.

I believe it’s only a matter of time when asexuality becomes better understood and, hopefully, accepted. I think we just need to be a little bit patient.

 

 

Leave a Reply

