Gender Expression

Throughout the time I’ve studied (currently doing Early Childhood Education and Care), one of my favourite topics has been about diversity and, in particular, gender. It got me thinking about how I experience my own gender.

i’m a cisgender female. Never once in my life have I ever questioned the fact that I’m female. However, I have thought more about my own gender expression. When I was a kid, I was a girly – girl. I loved dresses, loved make – up and loved barbies. However, from my late teen years throughout my the first half of my 20’s, I realise that, unless I really have to, I don’t really go out of my way to be particularly ‘feminine’. The last time I wore make up was at my Year 12 formal and that was over five years ago. I do wear feminine colours, like pink, but I wouldn’t say that’s particularly because I want to appear more ‘feminine’. It just is.bi’m quite easy when it comes to colour/s.

I did read in a magazine that a study showed that women subconsciously dress ‘sexy’ or more attractive around certain times of the months in order to attract a mate. It got me thinking, does my own gender expression also reflect my asexuality, even on a subconscious level? Something tells me it’s not that much of a stretch to say it is.

Please note, I am NOT trying to suggest that young children express their gender in a way that indicates sexuality. I was just expressing my own thought on how I experience my own gender and why. I’m fully aware that gender and sexuality are separate, however, I wonder for some people, whether gender expression and sexuality do overlap.

What do you think about this? To asexual people in particular, how do you view your gender expression? Do you you think your sexuality plays a role in this? To people of other orientations, what do you think?

Leave a Reply

