Fairy Tales and The ‘Happily Ever After

When I was a child, I loved the twentieth century fairy tales, especially Disney’s ‘Cinderella’ and ‘Snow White and the Seven Dwarves’. Like many other girls, I liked the idea of falling in love, loved making myself up and wanted to find my ‘happily ever after’.

Not surprisingly, things have changed. I understand that some women still try and aim for their romantic ‘happily ever after’, but it doesn’t apply to me anymore. Sure, I want some concept of the ‘happily ever after’, but frankly, I don’t know exactly what that means for me.

 

A few weeks (days?) ago, blogger Acetheist wrote posts about ‘non sexual, non – romantic’ relationships (great posts by the way). It got me thinking about relationships in a different light. It got me thinking about queer – platonic relationships and whether I’ll eve have one.

I have always been affectionate. For the past three or so years, I thought that maybe I was grey – romantic rather than straight out aromantic. But is a romantic relationship what I want? Maybe a ‘non – sexual/ non – romantic’ is right. It sounds lovely, however tumultuous it may be.

 

One thing about queer platonic/ non sexual/ non – romantic relationships that are somewhat more than platonic (mouthful I know), are those relationships ever ‘exclusive’ like sexual/ romantic relationships often are or are they always ‘open’ if you like? Is the other person, especially if one person isn’t an asexual (or aromantic for that matter), free to look for a relationship on the outside?

If you have any experience in non – sexual/ non – romantic relationships, feel free to leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

