What I Think About Marriage

Before I was sixteen, I always assumed that I’d get married one day. I think that assumption was throw out the window when I was sixteen, and definitely whe I fully identified as asexual just before the age of twenty – one. Please note, I get asexual people get married. I’m not knocking that. It’s just for me personally, identifying as asexual to me, threw it out e window. 

What do I think of marriage in general? I believe in life – long monogamy, to be honest (easy for me to say, I know). I believe that, for most people, sexual and romantic attraction plays a major role in who people choose to marry (in the West anyway). I don’t think that’s necessarily a bad thing. It’s just the way it is for many people. Friendship is important, but I think it, at least starts as much more.

Will I ever get married? Well, I suppose you cant’t predict the future, but a part of me doubts it. As long as I have love in my life; friends, family, etc, that’ll be enough, at least for now. 

 

What do you think of marriage? If you aren’t married, do you think you will? Why of why not?

3 comments on “What I Think About Marriage

  1. V says:

    Growing up, I always said I would never get married. It took me awhile to understand my sexuality, but way before that, from a very young age, I knew I wasn’t attracted to the idea of marriage as it had always been represented to me. I still think like that a lot, but more and more as I get older, I see marriage as an anchor in life. Romantic or not, sexual or not, family is something that people yearn for. It’s the idea of having someone to come home to and having support through life’s struggles. Especially with the knowledge that your parents are not going to be around forever, and that your siblings (if you have any) and friends will probably branch out into their own lives and their own families that become their priority, it makes me want to build my own family as well.

Leave a Reply

