Response To “Nothing Natural About Celibacy”

Response to Tom Elliot’s editorial piece: “Nothing Natural About Celibacy”:

Dear Mr. Elliot

I want to respond to the editorial piece you wrote ‘Nothing Natural About  Celibacy’ (Herald Sun, 30/8/2014, p. 15). A quote jumped out at me when I was reading it:

Physical intimacy with a significant other is a normal and fundamental part of human existence

For most people, I repeat MOST PEOPLE this is the case. But it isn ‘t the case for a small number of people (e.g. people who are asexual). Why do I bring this up? Because it’s true. I’m on of those people. Right  back from my sex and emotional intimacy didn’t necessarily go hand in hand. All crushes I’ve had have never been physical, always emotional. Throughout my life, unless my orientation changes, that’s going to continue to be the case.

Why did I bring this up? Because I’m tired of people like me getting either completely ignored in the media or having our feelings invalidated. We do exist! I can’t just ‘make’ myself sexual ( if there’s a form of re- orientation therapy that I haven’t heard about and it’s actually scientifically PROVEN to work, tell me about it I’m interested (I honestly doubt it though).

I honestly respect the fact that MOST humans have an innate drive to seek out a sexual partner. My argument, is that not EVERYONE has that drive and it would be great if that could be acknowledged.

 

Cheers.

 

3 comments on “Response To “Nothing Natural About Celibacy”

  1. saraharnetty says:

    Reblogged this on Media Mad Blogger.

  2. electronicvictorian says:

    I also want to point out that physical intimacy isn’t just about sex. It can involve other forms of loving (or at least respectful) physical contact. Even with all clothes on. Even between people who don’t have a romantic or sexual connection. Now, you personally might not like any kind of physical intimacy, which is fine. But I point this out because it looks like Mr. Elliot’s view of intimacy is so narrow that he devalues other legitimate ways people physically show affection for each other. Unfortunately, he’s not alone in that view.

Leave a Reply

