Empowering Q & A

Last night’s episode of Q and A ย was really great and very inspiring. Here are two quotes that really got me and that I think would be of benefit to everybody.

Don’t have sex if you don’t want to and if you do want to, do it, but it should be be for yourself, not because you’re beiaid, because you’re being coerced, because you’re being pressured, but because you feel like it.

Kajsa Ekis Elkman, a Swedish woman who condemns surrogacy as a form of child trafficking and a fierce oppon ย  ent of prostitution.

The second comment that hit me came from social commentator, Jane Caro:

My advice is to be yourself. Do not allow anyone to mould your shape into something that doesn’t feel like you. Be yourself and always say what you think and do not fear what other people think and don’t seek approval.

There were a number of topics that were discussed, these quotes just jumped out at me.

Did anyone else see it?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 comments on “Empowering Q & A

  1. PurplesShade says:

    Hm, can’t remember now if I’ve watched Q&A before, but reading the synopsis this seems like a pretty good format for a talk show.
    Aussieland apparently lets, at least Canadians, watch shows on the site for the show itself, I didn’t even realize that til just down when I searched for the episode. ๐Ÿ˜€
    Note to self, start watching this show.

    This seems like a good episodes. I certainly don’t agree with everything being said, some parts were kind of painful, especially the bits starting off with the suggestion that if mothers were in power there’d be no war, I pffted and eye-rolled so hard at that, and was really glad when “juniorhigh” was brought up. (We just call it all highschool here in Canada, or we have a separate ‘middle school’.)

    I really liked the episode over all though, thanks for mentioning it. I definitely like the quotes you picked out. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • saraharnetty says:

      Thanks. Yeah, some comments were a bit blarze. Those two quotes I wrote from the end of the show was what hit me the most.

      Just so you know, Q and A is predominantly left – wing (as you probably suspect). Thanks for the reply. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • PurplesShade says:

        Ah, it’s like Real Time with Bill Maher in more than one way then. That’s good to know. ๐Ÿ˜€
        I’m liberal/leftist myself as well. (The panel full of feminists was a clue as to it’s left leaning nature yes. XD hehehe)
        Although I don’t know how the left compares in Canada versus Australia.

      • saraharnetty says:

        Yeah, I’ve got no idea about Canadian politics really. There are old episodes of Q and A on YouTube if you want to have a look. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

