Question To The Asexual Community

Do you feel like you’re a part of the LGBT+ community? If so, why and if not, why not?

This entry was posted in Queries.

6 comments on “Question To The Asexual Community

  1. Joanne Rang says:

    Nope, and I don’t want to be.

    We need our own community that can cater to our own specific needs. It feels like I’m being pushed aside when people group me with LGBT+ folks. They think they can just ignore asexuality as an individual issue as long as they work towards accepting LGBT+.

    If we just group ourselves into that world we will be less visible and their causes will take priority over our own. (We can’t blame them for it, it’s what they’ve founded their purpose on).

    • Kaylie says:

      Definitely agree. I love my LGBT friends, but they have their own battle to fight and I don’t expect them to fight mine too.
      I also get really annoyed when people decide that asexuality is just another sexuality to throw into the LGBT mix. To me, it’s very different. Categorizing us as part of the LGBT movement is an easy way to ignore all of our struggles and make us far less visible.

      • saraharnetty says:

        I’ve written before that the battles that asexual people face, both historically and current, are different to those of the LGBT for the most part, so I can see why you’d want to separate the two.

  2. nobody says:

    I identify as queer. I’ve been involved in two romantic relationships, one with a straight cis-man and the other with a pansexual transwoman. I can’t figure out exactly how to label myself, so I just stick with queer asexual.

    But I have often felt marginalized by the LGBT+ community because of my asexuality. Not by everyone, but I’ve definitely run into people who’ve acted like I don’t count since I don’t want to get touchy-feely or have sex with anyone.

Leave a Reply

