Why Is Singleness STILL Looked Down Upon?

I was reading an article in this month’s issue of Australia’s Matie Claire today and there was an article on how women are still pitied or feel pressured by friends to find a partner. Seriously? This annoys me for a couple of reasons.

Firstly, it means we still value people (particularly women) on their relationship status, and ultimately, their sexuality. Apparently we haven’t got the whole ‘tolerance’ thing down pat, yet. Women still can’t choose how they express their sexuality. They have to still fit a ‘norm’. This is frustrating to hear, because, like I said in a previous post, it’s a barrier that asexuals, especially aromantic or non – partnered asexuals deal with. Why can’t we just stop judging each other on this issue so much? NEWSFLASH: some people actually LIKE being single. For some people, it’s hard to find a partner/ spouse. The last thing they need is to feel crap about it!

Secondly, there is a double – standard between men and women. It takes two to tango, right? I know there are women who’s ‘biological clocks’ are ticking away, and I do believe all women, when and if they decide to have children, should be mindful of their fertility. I’ve got to say that I don’t have any moral objections to procedures like IVF, but that’s no guarantee either. OK, I’m going to say something people will find controversial… currently, in New South Wales, I think IVF can be legally accessed by single women and same – sex female couples. In Victoria, before the last State election, Labor candidate (and current State Premier), Daniel Andrews did mention that he might also loosen IVF laws to allows same – sex female couples to access IVF. Also, recently, some foster care agencies have also allowed same – sex couples and singles to apply to take a foster child due to demand. Before anyone jumps on me, I’m not saying this to promote anything. I’m not trying to destroy the nuclear family. I’m just simply stating what’s currently allowed in Australia that I’m aware of. I get that people are morally opposed to these things. And if you are, then that’s fine.

Thirdly, let me ask a question: is it better for anyone (regardless of gender or orientation), to enter a relationship when they reakly don’t want to? Or get into a relationship with the wrong person because they feel like they’re under pressure? Do I really need to explain why this could be a really bad idea?

 

So, women (and men, and any other people of non – binary gender), shouldn’t be pressured into relationships. If you want a partner, good luck to you. If not, then people should be able to respect that. Stop valuing (or degrading) people due to their sexuality! That includes their relationship status.

 

Have you ever felt pressure to enter a relationship?

Leave a Reply

