My Own Experiences Writing About Asexuality

I’ve been writing this blog for a bit over a year and a half now. I don’t know what I intended to do when I started, create conversation, sort myself out… something like that. Now, my main aim for my blog (this one anyway), is to (hopefully) create more visibility on asexuality, how it relates to the society, discrimination against asexual and LGBT people and other topics.

As time goes on, I’m able to write, what I think about more controversial topics, for example like LGBT+ discrimination and the relationship between sexuality and Christianity. I’ve been able to do so without much problem… so far (my most controversial one to date was about a petition on change.org condemning a mental health organisation for “promoting and encouraging” homosexuality, which, I stated was, frankly ridiculous and I stated why).

Anyhow, I survived that. Lately, my big thing is to make sure that any links I try to post work. Also, I’m wary about making sure I’m careful when referring to other bloggers. One of my posts about asexuality and pop culture was a mess and I think I (unintentionally) caused offence. I try not to! Honest.

What about the future? I’ll keep blogging. I’ll put down anything that comes to my head. OK, that’s kind of a lie… I’ll post things that are in my head that I feel comfortable posting and something that will (hopefully) not cause World War 3!

4 comments on “My Own Experiences Writing About Asexuality

  1. mattjstead says:

    As long as words come from a state of love, which I can see in your writing, even if it sparks “controversy”, speaking the truth should never be turned away from. You are bringing a topic to the forefront that needs to be. Let your words flow. Right Speech, Right Thought, Right Action. Keep writing.
    Blessings,
    Matt S.

  2. I’m with Matt. You speak honestly. Not everyone will agree, but some of the disagreement will come from the discriminators. Christianity is so wide, that no opinion on sexuality is held by all Christians. Keep speaking out as long as you are comfortable doing so. If others object it is their problem.

Leave a Reply

