Facebook, Same – Sex Marriage and Coming Out on Social Media

I’ve been more than a bit surprised by how many of my friends have put the rainbow on their profile picture in light of the landmark US Supreme Court decision to make same – sex marriage legal nationwide. I would say that probably about half have changed their photos. Maybe bit less… don’t know. More than what I thought would, anyway. It got me thinking: Will it be easier for LGBT+ people to be open about their identities on social media? Have we come far enough for that to happen?

i won’t talk on behalf of anyone else, I can’t, but speaking for my personal experience, discussing things like your sexuality online can be freaky. When I started this blog, I was encouraged to publish my posts on my Facebook Wall. That genuinely made me a bit anxious. When I revealed who I was to a cousin in a private message, I cried in relief that she was fine with it.

Now, I know that too many LGBT people face much more anxiety and, quite frankly, much more to fear. I’ve got to say, though, that it hasn’t always been easy for me either, even though nothing really bad has happened since I started posting the blog on Facebook.

So, will this SCOTUS decision and the social media response make it easier for LGBT+ people to be honest about who they are without a backlash, either on social media or real life?

5 comments on “Facebook, Same – Sex Marriage and Coming Out on Social Media

  1. mattjstead says:

    I think its a valid question and the one posed by you will see if these are just “followers” or true “believers” in the change that has happened. My heart goes with the latter, and I think not only are people now more comfortable speaking of THEIR sexuality, but speaking out that they are okay with OTHERS sexuality, which could cause just as much “drama” on social media.

  2. mattjstead says:

    Also – I used your question as inspiration for a quick little blog post. I gave you full credit and also linked your WordPress to it 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

