Support to the LGBT+ In Regional Areas

This post has been floating around my head for a while. A few weeks ago, Facebook erupted when the Supreme Court of the United States (SCOTUS), made a ruling making same – sex marriage legal nationwide. Of course it’s had it’s critics. but to be honest, on my Facebook feed, the response has been overwhelmingly positive. There are some people who changed their profile picture who I wouldn’t think would. Most touchingly, is the response that has come from current and former itinerant teachers who I know personally. All three of them either added the rainbow filter or who have otherwise been openly supportive of same – sex marriage. Why is this important? Because I’m so glad that LGBTQ+ students have had a soft place for fall in a regional area. It’s great to know that, even though country, and regional areas are often known to be socially conservative.

Two out of three of three people I’m talking about know my story, at least in part (I suppose they would because of the blog, ha) and not once have any of them turned their backs on me. And I’m truly grateful for that, not just for me, but for other LGBT+ students, past and present who grew  up in rural and regional areas. It is so great to know that students will not be rejected by these people if they speak out about who they are.

So, a big thank you to all of you (you know who you are) for your support. Thank you for being a soft place to fall for LGBT+ people. And also, thank you for accepting me as I am. ❤ ❤ ❤

P.S. There are other people too, and I thank them wholeheartedly for their support over the years to. I just wanted to give a shout out to these particular ones.

Leave a Reply

